VSHA Outstanding Undergraduate Awardee 2015


(L to R) Prof. Elizabeth Adams and Ilsa Feierabend, UVM ’15

VSHA Outstanding Undergraduate Award 2015

Ilsa Feierabend, UVM ’15, received the VSHA Outstanding Undergraduate Student Award.  The award is a presented each year to an undergraduate senior majoring in Communication Sciences and Disorders (CSD) at the University of Vermont (UVM).

The award is based upon strong academic performance. In addition, consideration is given to individual promise for achievement and professional affiliation as a Speech-Language Pathologist or Audiologist.  The student recipient is recommended by the CSD faculty at UVM.

VSHA will award Ilsa with a paid, one-year membership to the National Student Speech Language Hearing Association (NSSHLA).

Ilsa graduated Cum Laude from the University of Vermont, College of Nursing and Health Sciences, with a B.S. in Communication Sciences and Disorders and a minor in Gerontology.

Ilsa is from Madison, Wisconsin and transferred to CSD her sophomore year.  She demonstrated academic excellence each semester while also maintaining student-athlete status.   Ilsa was an award winning member and captain of the UVM swim team.  She was recently nominated for America East Woman of the Year. 

Ilsa was an audiology intern at UVM’s Eleanor M. Luse Center for Communication’s Audiology Clinic.  Because of Ilsa’s excellent performance in her internship, she was invited by the audiology faculty to become the Audiology Clinic’s audiology assistant, a paid position given to a student demonstrating clinical promise and showing an interest in the profession. 

Ilsa will continue her role as audiology assistant in 2015 and will be applying to Doctor of Audiology programs for 2016.  The Department of Communication Sciences and Disorders was pleased to nominate Ilsa for this award given by VSHA.  She certainly is most deserving and an excellent example of a strong academic performer who shows promise for achievement and professional affiliation as an audiologist. 

Ilsa joins the following previous recipients:
Michala Demars - 2014
Claudia Abbiati – 2013
Jordan Schweizer - 2012

Vermont Design Works